PDA

View Full Version : How to Eavesdrop without being Noticed

Amber Grosjean
March 2nd, 2010, 01:33 PM
When you go out to watch people and learn from them for your benefit as a writer, I'm sure you worry about the people you're watching catching on. No one wants that. So here's a little advice on how to watch others without being noticed.

First of all, use your ears more than your eyes. Listen to how people talk. As you are listening to conversations, listen to how they choose their words, the tone in their voices, etc. As you are listening, let your eyes wonder. It doesn't matter if what you're seeing matches what you're hearing. You're not there to eavesdrop on the conversations, just on the people.

As you're eyes are wondering, focus on the body language, looks on their faces. Don't stay on one person for too long it might be a good idea to be with a friend so you can look like you're visiting with someone. But don't ignore your friend though. He or she can even help lol.

As you're learning, you can write things down describing what you're seeing and hearing. Use the same words you'd use for your writing of the story so you're not confused. Later on when you're ready to incorporate what you've learned, you can change things around using a thesaurus so you're not getting repetition.

And have a drink or something to eat. I forgot to mention that lol.

I people watch all the time. The more you do it, the better you become. I hang out in clubs sometimes and I watch how people move around and who they talk to. It tells me what kind of people that person is into. It also shows how many friends they have if they do move around a lot lol.