PDA

View Full Version : Ages of the characters

Abby Wood
May 13th, 2010, 11:41 AM
On the Breathless Press website (http://www.breathlesspress.com) there is a small box with a poll asking if you like your hero to be the same age as the heroine...or older, younger.

As a writer, I'm very curious about this too. I'd love to hear from the readers what they prefer.

Abby

Tara S Nichols
May 13th, 2010, 04:09 PM
I consider myself a reader, so... I'd say it doesn't really matter. If the guy is a bit younger it's almost not worth mentioning, but if he's 25 and the heroine is 42, well, then I say classify it under Cougar romance. If it's the other way around... well... I'm not as into that, lol. What a double standard. I think I mostly prefer the hero to be two years older than the heroine.

Abby Wood
May 13th, 2010, 04:58 PM
I consider myself a reader, so... I'd say it doesn't really matter. If the guy is a bit younger it's almost not worth mentioning, but if he's 25 and the heroine is 42, well, then I say classify it under Cougar romance. If it's the other way around... well... I'm not as into that, lol. What a double standard. I think I mostly prefer the hero to be two years older than the heroine.

I think I'm biased, because my hubs is 11 years older than me and I met him right out of high school. :whistle: As a reader, like you, age usually isn't even apparent unless it is stated or there is a wide difference. I don't even think of their age, except in the terms that they are both younger or closer to middle age. After seeing the poll, I do wonder though if there is a preference amongst the readers.

Fiona Vance
May 13th, 2010, 05:22 PM