PDA

View Full Version : To Sir, With Love

pharaoh
June 20th, 2010, 11:20 PM
I have been a teacher for the past twenty odd years and I thought that I would never say this, but I am burnt out. If not burnt out, then certainly my flame is flickering in the winds of change.

The sad part is that when I entered this proud profession, I uncounted these warped and frustrated old educators. I listen to them railing against the onslaught of their young charges while shaking their fists and cursing the heavens for their cruel fate.

I promised myself that I would never become them. I would leave long before joining the ranks of the malcontents. Iím reminded of a conversation that I overheard in the main office during my first week on the job:

ďTheses kids arenít bad, John,Ē the veteran teacher alleged, sarcastically. ďOn the contrary, these young people are our future. One day this nation will be in their hands.Ē

The administrator gave the teacher a long skeptical look. ďWell, when that day comes, I hope that Iím dead,Ē responded the vice principal before turning and walking away.

I am happy to say that I havenít sunk to such depths, and most likely never will. However, my idealism has vanished, and my passion is fading fast.

I recognized my calling after viewing ďTo Sir, With LoveĒ starring Sidney Pottier. In the film, Sidney played Sir, an unemployed civil engineer who took a substitute teaching position in the slums of Londonís East End. To say that his students were hostile toward him would be like saying that Hitler disliked the Jews.

There was the usually age difference, but there was also a racial, class and cultural difference to overcome. Sir was educated and urbane, his social refinement and sophistication ostracizing him even more than his skin color.