PDA

View Full Version : Becoming a Novelist

Chris Stovell
June 21st, 2010, 04:44 AM
The Blogosphere is heaving with writers many of whom are aching to be novelists. I was recently asked a couple of questions about making submissions. Although I’m a debut novelist I have plenty of writing experience and a few cautionary tales which may help anyone about to embark on this path.
<o></o>
1. It helps if you can write<o></o>
I’ve spent most of my working life as a professional writer. That hasn’t always been my job title, of course, which has been Research Officer or Local Government Officer (of various descriptions) but writing has always been essential to the job description. I’ve written research papers, policy notes, briefing papers and press releases and if you want someone to turn your hesitant speech or venomous rows into concise elegant prose, well, it ain’t me, babe, because I don’t do that anymore.
<o></o>
In addition I’ve been placed in national essay and poetry competitions, I’ve been published in magazines and I’ve sold work to newspapers and contributed to an autobiographical anthology.
<o></o>
If you have any doubts about your writing ability send it out into the big wide world and test the water.
<o></o>
2. Stop if…<o></o>
a) You think writing’s a chore – it’s not, it’s a privilege and pleasure. Certainly it requires a lot of effort but sewing garments in a sweatshop is hard work, not writing.
b) You are not completely and utterly in love with your writing. If you don’t love your work why should the reader?
c) You think you’re going to get rich overnight. For every dazzlingly successful novelist there are dozens who get two books deals then disappear off the radar. ‘Cracking it’ isn’t enough. You’ve got to keep turning out page after page of sparkling fiction if you really want to be a success.
<o></o>
4. Recognise help.<o></o>