PDA

View Full Version : Cover Art Question

zenawynn
July 17th, 2010, 06:33 PM
I have an author (I'm an editor) who is considering the cover for her first book. She'd like to use a painting that she absolutely loves. The painting is of a bedroom with an open window that shows water in the distance. It's like a water color. Don't know if I could post a picture here.

Her story is about a resort owner who holds a contest in which the lucky winners win two weeks free at her resort. As the winners go through their stay there, you find out all sorts of interesting things about all of them, as well as the reason why the owner hosted the contest in the first place. The book is really interesting, and will be released from Red Rose Publishing in a few months. The title is called Voices on the Waves.

The author's orignal idea was to have a woman sitting on a cliffside over looking the ocean, with maybe a large house somewhere in the background representing the resort. Now she's fixed on using this painting.

So as a reader, my question is, what attracts you to books, realizing that the cover is part of the marketing tool publishers use to sell books?

destinyrae
July 18th, 2010, 10:20 AM
I love a good suspense, so I'm always drawn to dark and eerie looking covers. But, I would also say that colors can often really draw my attention. Or, they at least get me to take a closer look. :)

Destiny

Cara Bristol
July 18th, 2010, 06:16 PM
It's a hard question, because it's a complete package: the cover, the title, the blurb. I think what attracts me to books, first, is the title, then the blurb, then the cover. I tend to prefer simple covers as opposed to covers where there is a lot going on. Sometimes I am misled by covers: the look leads me to believe the book will be one way, when in fact, it's another.

Author_KLBrady
February 11th, 2011, 03:15 AM