PDA

View Full Version : Lesson 5 - Signature and Graphics Files

kayelle_allen
June 7th, 2007, 07:58 PM
I've asked superwiz Karenne to post the illustrations for this lesson. While we're waiting - could you do a quick poll for me? I will be watching this thru the entire month, so if you're coming in late, go right ahead and answer.

Karenne
June 7th, 2007, 08:24 PM
http://www.coffeetimeromance.com/images/Lesson 5 Graphics file.gif

http://www.coffeetimeromance.com/images/Lesson 5 Signature file.gif

kayelle_allen
June 7th, 2007, 08:49 PM
These two files are SnagIt pics taken from MS Word. You could make the same thing in any word processing program. I keep mine open in the background while I'm chatting, then switch over by clicking the window icon in the task bar at the bottom of the screen.

If you are a total noob like I was (many moons ago) and have no idea what I'm talking about here, just hang in. I'll go over specifics in another lesson, and then all this will make perfect sense.

The graphics file is awesome - I have 3 pages of goodies I can copy and paste into myspace comments.

I can hear the grumbling now... "but there's no way to paste anything in there!" Oh, but there is! Here is a short list of the most useful and timesaving hotkeys you will ever find on the computer. Print this list, cut it out, and paste it on your monitor's edge so you can see it. Pretty soon it will be second nature.

These hot keys make it possible for you to rapidly copy, paste etc during a chat. For a PC, use control (ctrl) for a Mac, use Command (cmd). For ease of writing, I'm using ctrl here, but if you're a Mac person, substitute cmd.

ctrl-Z Undo
ctrl-X Cut
ctrl-C Copy
ctrl-V Paste
ctrl-S Save
ctrl-N New
ctrl-I Italics
ctrl-B Bold
ctrl-U Underline
ctrl-O Open
ctrl-W Close

Highlight the text you want to use, ctrl-C to copy, then go to the comments section or signature area for your message, and do ctrl-V. Ta da! Once you practice this, you'll be copying/pasting like a champ.