PDA

View Full Version : Guest Spot: Punctuation 101 by Leanne Salter

deannalee
October 27th, 2011, 07:43 AM
Hey there! Thanks Deanna for inviting me to drop in, and thank you Coffee Time for hosting us.

I’m Leanne Salter, Managing Editor at Cobblestone Press. I’m also known as Anna Leigh Keaton, Sensual/Erotic romance author. I’ve been a professional editor for about seven years, and I’ve been writing most of my life—considerably longer than seven years!

I have to come out and admit that I was not an English major in college. In fact, I remember breaking out in a cold sweat in 8th grade when we had to go to the chalkboard and diagram a sentence. So, I’m here to tell you that proper punctuation is not rocket science! I swear it. If I can do it, anyone can.

First thing I suggest to every writer: Buy a writing manual.

Uh, yeah, you actually have to open it once you purchase it, but the good thing is that you’re not in college—at least not when you’re doing this—you don’t have to read it from cover to cover, unless you are one of those obsessive types, and can skip to the parts where you need help.

I taught myself writing by reading a lot. Since about middle school, I’ve read veraciously. I always had a book in hand and often put off homework to read. And now that I’m an adult and married with children, I often put off home work to read. This is the first step in the learning process. You’ve probably read properly punctuated books for years, right? Should be a snap to write that way, right?

Yeah, well, easier said than done, but it’s a start.

My first novel was about 400 pages of run-on sentences. I didn’t know when to use a period or a comma. Oh, and don’t get me started on dialogue punctuation! (Because we’ll get to that in a moment.)