View Full Version : Weather Warden series by Rachel Caine

November 11th, 2008, 11:56 PM
Has anyone read this series?

Trouble always manages to find Joanne Baldwin. She's a weather warden, part of a secret society working to douse fires, help control the weather and solve other problems relating to the elements - fire, earth, air and water. She's powerful in her own right and manages to get herself out of trouble when she needs to.

The first book is Ill Wind and introduces you to Joanne's life and her first major problem.


What the book is about (from Rachel's website):

Joanne Baldwin is a Weather Warden. Usually all it takes is a wave of her hand to tame the most violent weather. But now Joanne is trying to outrun another kind of storm: accusations of corruption and murder. So she's resorting to the very human tactic of running for her life ...
Her only hope is Lewis, the most powerful Warden of them all. Unfortunately, he's also on the run from the World Council. It seems he's stolen not one but three bottles of Djinn -- making him the most wanted man on earth. And without Lewis, Joanne's chances of surviving are as good as a snowball in -- well, a place she may soon be headed. So she and her classic Mustang are racing hard to find him because there's some bad weather closing in fast ...

November 11th, 2008, 11:58 PM
The second book is Heat Stroke. In this book Joanne finds a whole new set of problems. However, she does have a very fine lover in Djinn David.


What the book is about (from Rachel's website):

Joanne's survived one challenge ... technically ... but she's got a whole new set of problems. With the help of a hot supernatural lover, her chances of surviving look bright -- until things go wrong. There's trouble coming, and it's not confined to River City ... or to the Wardens. No, this trouble could kill every Djinn on the planet -- and unleash a storm that could send humanity to join them.
Armed with keen fashion sense, lime green Manolo Blahniks and a really fast car, Joanne prepares to do battle with the enemy.
Just one problem ... it may be Joanne herself.

November 12th, 2008, 12:01 AM
The third book is Chill Factor. Joanne finds herself in a very cool place - Las Vegas but she isn't living a great life.


What the book is about (from Rachel's website - www.rachelcaine.com (http://www.rachelcaine.com))

Living, dead, or Djinn, Joanne Baldwin just can't stay out of trouble. Now she's on a time-sensitive mission to Vegas to retrieve the world's most important Djinn from the world's most dangerous teenager ... all alone. That's bad enough, but having to deal with a past that's determined to bury her, and suffering from serious wardrobe shortages ... well, that's over the line.
One thing's for certain: she's gambling everything this time.

November 12th, 2008, 12:04 AM
The fourth book is Windfall and Joanne finds herself on the hunt for a cure for her sick Djinn lover. She also has enemies coming at her from all directions.


What the book is about (from Rachel's website):

You think you're having a bad day? Joanne's lost her job as a Weather Warden, and saving the world generally doesn't come with a decent retirement check. It also doesn't come with any guarantees of landing a day job that won't suck, or being able to find a mystical cure for her critically ill Djinn lover. Burdened with a difficult sister in need of rescue, accused of weather-related murder, and finding herself in the middle of a Djinn civil war ... well, Joanne's bad times are just getting worse.
With enemies approaching from all sides, not to mention mounting credit card bills (Manolo Blahniks don't come cheap!), Joanne is praying for a windfall ... but the mother of all hurricanes approaching the Florida coast isn't exactly what she has in mind.

November 12th, 2008, 12:06 AM
The fifth book is Firestorm. Joanne faces some really tough problems. She meets her future daughter and the Mother Earth is waking. Not good!


What the book is about (from Rachel's website):

The agreement between the Wardens and the Djinn is in ruins. Mother Earth is waking up, and man, is she pissed. Add to that a new (fully grown) daughter, an absentee Djinn lover who's just become the most powerful being in the world, and an increasingly desperate race against time.
And yet ... for Joanne Baldwin, things are about to go downhill from there. The most intense high-stakes game she's ever played is about to go very, very wrong.

November 12th, 2008, 12:08 AM
The sixth book is Thin Air. Joanne finds herself in a very strange situation. She doesn't remember anything after a very hateful Djinn removes her memories. Together with Lewis and David, she manages to recover her lost memories but not before she finds she has a demon posing as her.


What this book is about (from Rachel's website):

Joanne Baldwin gambled everything ... and now, she doesn't even know whether she won or lost. In fact, she doesn't know anything. Who she is, for starters. Who these hot guys David and Lewis are, although it's a point in their favor that they seem to be trying to save her life. She's missing time, and she's missing memories, andsomething out there is trying to get whatever she's got left.
This time, it isn't about saving the world.
It's about saving herself.

November 12th, 2008, 12:11 AM
The seventh book is Gale Force. Joanne's Djinn lover asks her to marry him, she should be excited but for some reason she's panicked.


What the book is about (from Rachel's website):

It's time Joanne Baldwin had a break. But is she getting one? Nooooooo. Instead, someone's calling up earthquakes to make her life miserable. Even David asking her to marry him can't solve her problems, and in fact, it may be adding to them, because someone has a grudge against mystical mixed marriages ... and it's someone David, and the rest of the Djinn, can't even sense, much less stop.
The storm's coming ... and it's going to be bad.

November 12th, 2008, 05:07 AM
I haven't read any of these books Bec but they sound good

November 12th, 2008, 06:13 PM
Rachel Caine is such a good writer. She has another series as well - The Morganville Vampire series. It's really good as well but those books are a lot shorter in length.