PDA

View Full Version : Contemporaries I've Read Recently



Shelley Munro
November 29th, 2008, 10:31 PM
http://www.shelleymunro.com/blog/wp-content/image-headlines/7602b3a16d17d211632f934641449464.png (http://www.shelleymunro.com/blog/2008/11/27/a-contemporary-read/)


http://www.shelleymunro.com/blog/wp-content/tt_minimal3.jpg

<CENTER> </CENTER><CENTER>Thirteen Contemporary Romances Iíve Read Recently</CENTER>

Iím going through a contemporary blitz at the moment and thought Iíd share what Iíve been reading. I enjoyed all the following books but have noted my extra favorites. Iím also after some sympathy. I did a header over the handle bars of my bike yesterday and collected almost enough ouchies to do a separate TT. I even have a very impressive black eye and a dashing cut above my eye. I need virtual hugs!

1. Sexiest man Alive (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0446617989/ref=s9_asin_image_3?pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_s=center-1&pf_rd_r=1V0Z50KEMQ6J9E4DEV9D&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=278240701&pf_rd_i=507846) by Diana Holquist (http://www.dianaholquist.com/).

2. Catch of the Day (http://www.amazon.com/Catch-Day-Kristan-Higgins/dp/0373772246/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1227762988&sr=1-3) by Kristin Higgins. This was written in first person and hooked me in from the start. I thought the heroine made a few stupid decisions but it was still a good read.

3. Virgin River (http://www.amazon.com/Virgin-River-Book/dp/0778324907/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1227763083&sr=1-1) series by Robyn Carr (http://www.robyncarr.com/). I love this series and canít wait for the three back-to-back releases coming out early next year. I loved the characters and really invested in them. I feel like theyíre family.

4. Irresistable (http://www.amazon.com/Irresistible-Buchanans-Book-Susan-Mallery/dp/0373771177/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1227763146&sr=1-1) by Susan Mallery (http://www.susanmallery.com/). This is also part of a good series. I have two more books waiting on my to-read pile.

5. The Laws of Attraction (http://www.amazon.com/Attraction-Cottage-Sisters-Silhouette-Special/dp/0373246811/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1227763234&sr=1-1) by Sherryl Woods (http://www.sherrylwoods.com/). This was a category. Iím going to pick up some of her single titles when I get a chance.

6. Sweet Surrender (http://www.amazon.com/Sweet-Surrender-Maya-Banks/dp/B001GCVFHS/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1227763304&sr=1-1) by Maya Banks (http://www.mayabanks.com/). I really enjoy Mayaís writing and canít wait to pick up some of her others.

7. Rough, Raw and Ready (http://www.mybookstoreandmore.com/shop/product.da/rough-raw-and-ready) by Lorelei James (http://www.loreleijames.com/). I mentioned this book in my menage a trois TT (http://www.shelleymunro.com/blog/2008/11/13/hot-spicy-threesomes/). Lorelei did an awesome job with this book and itís one of my favorites of her series.

8. Seduction of Shamus OíRourke (http://www.mybookstoreandmore.com/shop/product.da/p-the-seduction-of-shamus-orourke) by NJ Walters (http://www.njwalters.com/). This has just come out in print. I fell in love with Shamus. Heís such a great hero!

9. Flashpoint (http://www.amazon.com/Flashpoint-Harlequin-Blaze-Jill-Shalvis/dp/0373794142/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1227763509&sr=1-2) by Jill Shalvis (http://jillshalvis.com/).

10. The Darker Side of Pleasure (http://www.amazon.com/Darker-Side-Pleasure-Eden-Bradley/dp/0553589741/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1227763630&sr=1-1) by Eden Bradley (http://www.edenbradley.com/). I love Edenís writing. Iím a huge fan.

11. Asking for Trouble (http://www.amazon.com/Asking-Trouble-Harlequin-Blaze-280/dp/0373792840/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1227763691&sr=1-1) by Leslie Kelly (http://www.lesliekelly.com/).

12. Sarahís Seduction (http://www.amazon.com/Sarahs-Seduction-Men-August-Book/dp/1419950304/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1227763768&sr=1-1) by Lora Leigh (http://www.loraleigh.com/). I read the first in this series, Marlyís Choice a while ago. Itís not an easy series to read because it deals with abuse, but Lora does a great job making the reader care for the characters.

13. The Stranger (http://www.amazon.com/Stranger-Black-Lace-Portia-Costa/dp/0352332115/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1227763851&sr=1-1) by Portia Da Costa (http://www.portiadacosta.com/). This is what Iím reading at the moment. Iíve read a couple of Portiaís books and always enjoy them.

As you can see, I read a real mixture. Some hot and some not. Some are category while others are single title. Do you like contemporary romance? If so, have you read any good ones recently?

<CENTER> </CENTER><CENTER>Get the Thursday Thirteen code here! (http://thursdaythirteen.com/)
The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in othersí comments. Itís easy, and fun! Trackbacks, pings, comment links accepted!
View More Thursday Thirteen Participants (http://technorati.com/tag/thursday+thirteen)
</CENTER>

Shelley Munro
September 12th, 2009, 07:42 PM
I've two great reads to add to my list.

Talk Me Down and Start Me Up by Victoria Dahl. Both are fun reads with snappy dialogue and a slight suspense thread. I really enjoyed them both. The books are loosely connected.

Shelley

CharmedGirl
September 12th, 2009, 08:15 PM
I've read three books from your list above Shelley.

Maya Banks and Lorelei James both are great writers.

Shelley Munro
September 14th, 2009, 04:52 PM
Maya Banks and Lorelei James are both favorites of mine too. They write excellent books. I'm reading Maya's first Desire release at the moment. It's full of emotion.

Shelley