Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

revision Ages of the characters

On the Breathless Press website there is a small box with a poll asking if you like your hero to be the same age as the heroine...or older, younger.

As a writer, I'm very curious about this too. I'd love to hear from the readers what they prefer.

Abby
    Reading: Lady Chatterly's Lover
    TBR: 100+

Awards Showcase

I consider myself a reader, so... I'd say it doesn't really matter. If the guy is a bit younger it's almost not worth mentioning, but if he's 25 and the heroine is 42, well, then I say classify it under Cougar romance. If it's the other way around... well... I'm not as into that, lol. What a double standard. I think I mostly prefer the hero to be two years older than the heroine.
    "If you can't be a good example -- then you'll just have to be a horrible warning. -Catherine Aird"
    visit me at

http://tarasnichols.webs.com

http://tarasnichols.blogspot.com/

http://blog.myspace.com/tarasnichols

Quote Originally Posted by Tara S Nichols View Post
    I consider myself a reader, so... I'd say it doesn't really matter. If the guy is a bit younger it's almost not worth mentioning, but if he's 25 and the heroine is 42, well, then I say classify it under Cougar romance. If it's the other way around... well... I'm not as into that, lol. What a double standard. I think I mostly prefer the hero to be two years older than the heroine.
    I think I'm biased, because my hubs is 11 years older than me and I met him right out of high school. As a reader, like you, age usually isn't even apparent unless it is stated or there is a wide difference. I don't even think of their age, except in the terms that they are both younger or closer to middle age. After seeing the poll, I do wonder though if there is a preference amongst the readers.
    Reading: An Echo in the Bone by Diana Gabaldon
    TBR: 50+

Awards Showcase