Hybrid View

Default Socks socks socks!

My favorite thing to knit is socks. I love them all - the simple ones and the complicated ones, lace, cables, stripes, self-striping. (I guess, actually, that I'm not a fan of fair isle socks because I've had some bad washing experiences with them, but this too shall pass.) Socks have that perfect balance of needing my attention a little bit (for turning the heel and shaping the toe) but being grunt-knitting for the most part. That lets my imagination wander and my subconscious solve plot problems.

I just finished the first sock of a pair in a self-striping yarn called Step from Austermann, which has jojoba oil and aloe right in the wool. It's supposed to soften your feet for 40 washes of the socks.

I just liked the colourway. And hey, the stripes worked out perfectly for the socks to match!

What do you like to knit best?

Claire
    TBR: 250+

Awards Showcase

Question

You know...I never thought about knitting socks. How long does it take to do a pair? Do you have a pattern (for those of us who are brain dead and need patterns) How much yard does it take?

Think I need to go to the yarn store today...drool
    I smile because I have no idea what is going on.

Well, socks are pretty quick, especially if you use thick yarn and make toasty socks.

Here are a couple of patterns. These are all for using 4 double-pointed-needles (DPN's) but there are probably two-needle sock patterns, too. You'd have to sew them up, though, and I'd rather avoid finishing seams.

Knitting Daily is a new listserve from Interweave Knits - you can join for free, then access their patterns, several of which are for socks.

Lion Brand Yarns has lots of free patterns. Again, I think you have to subscribe (for free) in order to download patterns. Here's a pattern to use with self-striping yarns, although they have others too. Self-striping yarns are dyed so that you just knit and the yarn makes the stripes. How cool is that?!