For Better or Worse is a holiday-themed story about two very different women who, although their backgrounds are as different as night and day, are very much in love and are trying to make a life together.

"Julie comes from money, works as a teacher and had a straight-laced upbringing. That makes it difficult for her lover, Gail, who has a hard time with conventional small talk and polite society. Gail loves Julie and wants to be with her, but meeting Julie's family for the holidays is really creating friction in their relationship. Julie's stressed, Julie's mother is a tough cookie, and all in all, Gail would rather be home, loving Julie the best way she can. Can they make it work just in time for Christmas?"

EXCERPT

"It wasn't funny! She's a co-worker and that was a nice party. I can't take you anywhere!"

"Julie, baby," I said, trying to sound apologetic. "I'm not good at all that grin and pretend to be nice stuff; you know that."

"Yes, Gail. Yes. I know that. I fucking know that." Julie shook her head and turned away, heading down the sidewalk again. I might have been mistaken, but I thought maybe I saw tears in her eyes. God, I can't take it when Julie cries. I really can't take it when I make her cry, and it seems like I do it all the damn time.

"Julie, I'm sorry." I meant it, I honestly meant it. "Baby?" I caught up to her and matched her angry walking pace. "I'm truly sorry, all right?"

"It might have been funny in a dyke bar, Gail, but not at a cocktail party, you know?" Julie kept walking at a good clip, making me work to keep up.

"You have no sense of propriety.