MM Pollard here to welcome you to this workshop on editing. You'll learn five editing strategies, one a lesson. You will use these strategies to find and correct five different errors writers make.
You don't have to do any homework, but each lesson ends with an assignment. I was an English teacher for 15 years. Old habits die hard, and some never do! If you post your assignment on the homework thread for that lesson, I will offer comments.

Let's begin -- I'm sure it's August 1st somewhere in the world!

Become a Better Editor of Your Own Work,
presented by MM Pollard, editor, Black Velvet Seductions

Lesson 1

Strategy #1. Look at a hard copy. Use different font, margins, double-space, and enlarge the text to make it easier to read and print a chapter of your work youíd like to edit this week. Because youíre not used to seeing your work as a hard copy, you will have to focus more as you read Ė more focus leads to finding more mistakes.

Even if you choose not to print your work, changing the font, font size, font color, and margins will make your work appear different on the computer screen.

Problem 1: problematic participial phrases
We will use this strategy to find and correct dangling participial phrases.

--Standing on a ladder that leaned hazardously against the overhang of the new, stone complex Paulís hands struggled with the last knot of the banner that proudly announced that the Grand Opening of Le Gourmet would be on April 1st.--

The definition for muddled, confused and aimless, is perfect to describe the sentence above.

That sentence has a story behind it.