Coffee Time Romance & More




  Liberty Lane Series
  Book 1 - A Foreign Affair
  Book 2 - A Dangerous Affair
  Book 3 - A Family Affair

ISBN# 978-0-06-144589-7
April 2008
Avon, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
10 East 53rd Street, New York, New York 10022
Trade Paperback
352 Pages
Rating: 4 cups

Liberty Lane's life changes forever at just the age of 21. She is waiting for her father to return to England from Calais when she receives a message from an anonymous person claiming the unthinkable. Not only has her father died, but he was killed in a duel.

Immediately, Liberty knows that her father was murdered and sets out to prove it. After traveling to Calais to see her father properly buried, she follows her instincts and comes up against some startling adversaries.

When approached by a man calling himself Mr. Blackstone, Liberty is very untrusting, and rightly so. She has been through so much and yearns to find her father’s murderer and why he was killed. Mr. Blackstone asks her to spy on a prestigious English family by becoming governess to their children. Once she moves in and becomes governess to the Mandeville children, Liberty discovers that the crimes going on go higher than she ever imagined.

A Foreign Affair is a spectacular mystery. Richly set in opulent Victorian England, the sights and sounds of the shores of the English Channel and the inner workings of a wealthy British manor are yours for the taking. Liberty Lane is one of the best heroines I have ever read. She is spunky and persevering in the face of extreme adversity. The other characters are not so well developed as they mostly come and go, but there is one special horse and cat who will make you smile. Ms. Peacock has written a truly beautiful and thought-provoking, as well as enjoyable, novel.

Reviewer for Coffee Time Romance
Reviewer for Karen Find Out About New Books



Awards | Author Services |  Contact Information  | New Author Information